Jesus–Giver of Life

As Jesus was saying this, the leader of a synagogue came and knelt before him. “My daughter has just died,” he said, “but you can bring her back to life again if you just come and lay your hand on her.” Jesus turned around, and when he saw her he said, “Daughter, be encouraged! Your faith has made you well.” And the woman was healed at that moment. (Matthew 9:18, 22 NLT)

******
These verses are such awesome reminder that God can raise people from the dead. We have moments of great disappointment and discouragement…tonight is one of mine. My disappointment is so great that I feel like there’s a part of me that just died. But thank you Jesus for this reminder! Indeed, only Jesus can bring anyone or anything to life!

*********
Lord, I need you kindness and your compassion. I need a friend. Thank you because you always listen. In fact, you’re eager to listen. If someone would hit me in the head for every time I make mistakes, I may have concussion by now. But instead of punishing me, you have extended your patient love and mercy on me–every single time. Who can love me like you do? Father, I pray that you would increase my faith. Help me be certain of things I haven’t seen but hoped for. Also, help me trust the future you have prepared for me. Amen.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

